Welcome to my blog!

and other introductory messages

June 24, 2024

It feels kinda presumptuous to be like, Hi everyone, welcome to my blog! as though it's some massive grand opening, but, like, how else do you start a blog? Anyways, hello! I figured for the first post on here, I’d talk a little bit about what prompted me to create this website and blog in the first place.

Firstly though, for those of you that know me in real life who might be wondering why I’m not using my real name here, it’s because I don’t entirely feel comfortable with people online using it, at least right now. I’ll get around to doing a name/face reveal at some point, but in the meantime, most of my online friends opt to call me Dawn, so that’s what I’ll be doing here. I don’t imagine there will be many times where I address myself here without just using I or me, so it’s sort of a small detail, but I figured it’s worth noting.

Anyways, I wanted to create this site essentially as a hub for all my personal creative projects to be able to easily share with friends, and also to get away from the many grievances I have with the current state of social media. Frankly, that last bit could be a whole blog post in of itself, but to keep it short, most platforms are extremely limiting in how you’re able to share your thoughts and express yourself. They’ve also begun shifting away from being places to connect with friends and family, and are instead moving towards algorithmically-driven content feeds, and I think having those two things in the same app is a crime against humanity.

Additionally, I’m planning on going into the digital media field, and in order to maintain a healthy relationship with being an artist, I need to make sure I separate the personal and business side of things. Not everything I make is beneficial to my future career; some of it I do for the love of creation. For example, while I enjoy drawing from time to time, I don’t want to imply in my portfolio that I’m confident in my drawing skills. I actually have mild essential tremors in my hands that make it difficult to be precise with a pencil, so drawing smooth lines or fine details is almost impossible for me.

Most employers, I imagine, would only want to see what I’m skilled at, so I don’t want to clutter my portfolio. That said, I’m still really proud of the other stuff I’ve made, and I want to share them and talk about them with my friends. But that includes my online friends too, and I don’t want them to know, like, my personal email and phone number and stuff. You see the dilemma?

So what I’ve done is curate my portfolio website to make me look as professional and talented as possible, while this website will give me the freedom to share my creative endeavors without having to worry about any of that stuff.

I actually don’t know how often I’ll be writing blog posts here. I have some ideas for them, but I mostly just wanted a space where I could do long-form text posts about whatever’s on my mind. Which I guess is exactly what a blog is anyway.

Oh, that, and I wanted to document my Taylor Swift Review endeavor here too. Honestly, I think that whole ordeal would make for a great video essay on YouTube. Like imagine, I listened to EVERY Taylor Swift song. I think it’d do numbers. But to be honest, I don’t think I have the stage presence for voiceovers, much less talking on camera. Maybe it’d be fun to try sometime though.

Anyways, that’s all for this one. Take care.

Back to Top